Symposium O

Emerging Inorganic Materials for Solar Energy Harvesting: From Theory, Synthesis to Devices

We invite the submission of recent emerging inorganic materials for solar energy harvesting devices such as solar cells, solar-assisted water splitting, and CO2 reduction reactions. Examples include but not limited to:

Oxides: BiVO4, Fe2O3, FeZrO2, CuBiO2, ZnFe2O4, etc, and their derivatives
Sulfides: Sb2S3, Sb2Se3, CuSbS2, Se, etc, and their derivatives
Kesterite: Cu2ZnSnS4 and its novel compounds
Nitrides: ZnSnN2, metal oxynitrides (TiON, ZrON, TaON, and their derivatives) and other novel materials
Perovskite-inspired photoabsorber: ABS3, sulfide (SbGaS3, FePS3, BaZrS3, SnCaS3, LaYS3 etc) and their derivatives

Papers presented at Symposium O will be considered for publication in a themed collection of Journal of Materials Chemistry A, published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

  • Synthesis, characterizations of emerging inorganic photoabsorber, charge-transporting layers, transparent conductors;
  • Theoretical prediction of novel inorganic materials for solar harvesting;
  • Nanostructuring strategies for novel inorganic materials;
  • New device structures for photovoltaics, solar water splitting, photocatalysis, photoelectrochemistry, CO2 reduction, etc.;
  • Novel electrocatalyst design, synthesis, and characterization for solar water splitting, photocatalysis, CO2 reduction reactions, etc.;
  • High throughput techniques, machine-learning assisted the discovery of new materials, etc.;
  • Novel approaches for enhancing light absorption using inorganic materials such as up/down conversion, solar concentrator, etc.;
  • High-efficiency solar cells, solar water splitting devices, and photocatalysts.
  • Shiyou CHEN, Fudan University, China
  • Zhao CHUAN, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Kazunari DOMEN, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Maarja GROSSBERG-KUUSK, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
  • Geoffroy HAUTIER, Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth, USA
  • Robert HOYE, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Ju-Hyun JANG, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST), South Korea
  • Christine LUSCOMBE, University of Washington, USA
  • Kazuhiko MAEDA, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Jon MAJOR, University of Liverpool, United Kingdom
  • Roland MARSCHALL, University Bayreuth, Germany
  • Jong Hyeok PARK, Yonsei University, South Korea
  • Edgardo SAUCEDO, Universitat Polit√®cnica de Catalunya ¬∑ Barcelona Tech, Spain
  • Byungha SHIN, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea
  • David TILLEY, University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • Aron WALSH, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
  • Lianzhou WANG, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Qian WANG, Nagoya University, Japan
  • Hao XIN, Nanjing University of Posts & Telecommunications, China
  • Yi ZHANG, Nankai University, China


Lydia Wong
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Frank Osterloh
University of California at Davis, USA

Jiang Tang
Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

Yun Jeong Hwang
Seoul National University, South Korea

Joel Tan
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Lydia Wong
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Back to Symposia List