Symposium Y

2D Materials and Heterostructures

Semiconducting 2D materials, most notably transition metal dichalcogenides (TMDCs) and black phosphorous (BP), are a new class of materials with exceptional properties that create new vistas for both science and technology. Mono-layer (or few-layer) TMDCs and BP do not suffer from the zero-bandgap limitation of graphene. The sufficiently large bandgaps of 2D semiconductors, enhanced carrier mobility, and resistance to short channel effects make these materials very attractive for future generation of nanoelectronic devices. The direct bandgap nature of these 2D semiconductors, coupled with their mechanical flexibility and optical transparency, indicates their potential in novel electronic and opto-electronic devices. In addition, there is recent interest in building devices and functional materials based on hybrid heterostructures of different compositions to complement those from graphene. This symposium aims to serve as a scientific forum for scientists and researchers from related fields to report and discuss up to date scientific findings and technology breakthroughs.

  • 2D Materials Growth and Preparation (especially scalable solutions);
  • 2D Materials Characterization (Physical, Optical, Electrical, Mechanical, Chemical);
  • 2D Devices and Process Technologies (e.g. Doping, contacts, gating, integration);
  • New Physical Phenomenon (e.g. Spin-valley coupling, heterostructures);
  • Novel and Translational Applications (e.g. Flexible, ubiquitous electronics, photonics, valleytronics).
  • Jordi ARBIOL, Institut Catal√† de Nanoci√®ncia i Nanotecnologia, Spain
  • Ahmet AVSAR, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Zakaria Y. Al BALUSHI, University of California Berkeley, USA
  • Goki EDA, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Yongji GONG, Beihang University, China
  • Tawfique HASAN, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Mario LANZA, KAUST, Saudi Arabia
  • Mo LI, Washington University, USA
  • Kian Ping LOH, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Donguk NAM, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Sayeef SALAHUDDIN, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Elton SANTOS, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Kazu SUENAGA, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan
  • Sumeet WALIA, RMIT University, Australia
  • Binghai YAN, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Heejun YANG, Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea
  • Peter YE, Purdue University, USA
  • Hua ZHANG, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Yong-Wei ZHANG, Institute of High Performance Computing, A*STAR, Singapore
  • Wu ZHOU, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


Kah-Wee Ang
National University of Singapore, Singapore

Dongzhi Chi
Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, A*STAR, Singapore


Lain-Jong Lance Li
University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Andrew Wee
National University of Singapore, Singapore

Zheng Liu
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Kah-Wee Ang
National University of Singapore, Singapore

Back to Symposia List